The Lingering Effects of my Last Post

My last post I went deep. If you missed it, don’t worry, I haven’t totally regretted and deleted what I said yet (click here to read). Just kidding- I don’t regret what I wrote at all. It just took a little while to deal with all of the emotions I dug back up. Depression has that lingering effect. While I may not be in my deep dark days of depression anymore, looking back on those times makes me hurt because I could never forget the way I felt during those times. I actually had so many emotions and tears during my writing that I managed to make a good handful of typos. In dealing with my emotions, I only reread my post a million times and still looked over them all. Does spelling and grammar really matter when we are dealing with true feelings? I promise almost all of my posts will include some form of mistakes. We can all get over this, right? Finally, a day later when the knots in my stomach left I was able to catch them, or at least most of them.  The words I write are real and emotions are deep, friends.

There are a few reasons that I will never regret sharing my stories:

  • Emotions will not get in the way of why I started this blog in the first place. Emotions are just part of the job!
  • The amount of support I have seen already is so inspiring and proves that what I am doing is the right thing. All I want is to continue do that.
  • The number of people who have told me they are so glad I am opening up about my experience because they have been there too. THIS IS WHAT IT IS ALL ABOUT!
  • The biggest reason of all, I will tell you about below…

While browsing other blogs, I came across one that there was absolutely no ignoring. Someone shared a post and I heard their voice loud and clear. They were clearly talking about to take their own life- they even mentioned how. Their post talked about how they tried to reach out to someone close and they were no help at all. They didn’t have a good support system or many people around them. I took my own advice from my last post. I reached out.

I can’t say my comment made a difference but more than anything I hope it did. I know during my dark days I could have used words from a total stranger because even though I had a kick ass family and many friends I didn’t want their support. Matter of fact, I was pretty damn good at pushing them far away.

This is why I am so passionate about my blog even though I have just started. People need these stories. People need to support one another. And even total strangers need to show others that they are loved and that people care!

Enough with emotions for one post, let’s tell you about my boring day yesterday because I know you are all just dying to know how my Sunday went. Kidding- how exciting can a Sunday be y’all? Pregnancy still has me feeling a little nauseous in the mornings so most mornings we get a late start. Secretly, I’m totally okay with getting my day started in the afternoon. I am proud to say I got my ass up and we were productive. All thanks to lunch and coffee, of course!

I turned back to one of my old pregnancy foods with Liam…the classic grilled cheese and tomato soup. Is it just me that craves this when you aren’t feeling good? Anyways, it is a win win because Liam loves it!

29634699_10158183075696959_537841363_o.jpg

 

Not many meals are complete without a toy on the table. Or, in yesterdays case, the rebuilding of his Caterpillar. If it means he will sit at the table and eat his food in one sitting, score!

 

 

After lunch, it was nap time for the wild child. He stayed wild the whole time attempting to get him to take a nap. We weren’t extremely successful because after the battle he woke up only an hour later. The positive side is then he gets an early bedtime right?!? HA! I wish that was how it worked out yesterday. Parenting doesn’t always go as we wish. Am I right?

In that very short time I was able to chug a cup of coffee like it was the last one I was ever going to enjoy. Oh coffee, what we do without you? No, seriously,  would we be able to do anything without you? After that cup of much needed go juice, I was ready to get shit done. Apparently Liam is getting sick of our house being so unorganized too because he was ready to help. Thankfully, he actually is quite a big help! I have learned that it is so much easier to have him help and spend a few extra minutes looking for pieces he carries off to put in another toy than to deal with him getting upset because I tell him he can’t. He genuinely wants to help and really just wants to do what mom is doing!

See! Look how happy he is to be helping! Again, another win win for the day. I honestly would have struggled a little putting up that shoe rack on my own! Unpacking may have taken a little longer with his help but we did get to enjoy many dance breaks and laughs in the process. Those are the moments that make being a mom priceless!

You want to know the moments that you wish didn’t happen as mom, yet you will remember them forever? TMI but this is the cold truth about parenthood! While setting up some shelves for storage my son started to hide in the corner next to me. I knew exactly what he was doing. If you’re a parent, I’m sure you already know what was happening too. I quickly grabbed his potty because we are potty training and he refuses to poop on the potty. He would much rather find himself a nice corner or hide under a table to do his stinky business. To my surprise, he was ready to poop in the toilet when I brought it over. Proud mom moment…until….he did something. My child stood up midway through to turn and take a look for himself. He was proud too! That nice “break” meant  it didn’t all make it in the toilet after all. If you’re not a parent, you’re problem totally cringing at this moment. Don’t worry I was too! I was also trying not to get sick. After it was all said and done, we still celebrated. Shit on the floor can’t stop us from celebrating a victory in our house!

We wrapped up our day with a delicious dinner and I stayed up for hours past my bedtime trying to improve my blog. This is all so new to me so it has been quite a learning process. Baby steps!

 

One thought on “The Lingering Effects of my Last Post

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑